People are living in a ‘throwaway society’, using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

Living in a modern society, people tend to more and more enjoy one-time-used products and disposed of these products right after using. This tendency appeared because of several reasons which are explained below. Additionally, the consequences of this issue will be named after the reasons.

The throwaway trend might start from the new modern life-style and convenience of using short-time products. We cannot deny the fact that the world is developing at a remarkable speed changing the living style of most civilians, especially urban residents, who have little time for household chores. As a result, temporary goods show up as the problem-solver, people can spend less time washing dishes or laundering and instead, having more time for their family which takes up a little proportion in their time budget nowadays. Another reason behind the increasing fascination for one-time-used merchandises is that they just incredibly convenient comparing with other traditional goods. People can purchase these kinds of goods from hypermarket to the center shops with reasonable and affordable prices. Moreover, consumers can change the styles and brands of the product easily whenever they enjoy without costing lots of money like the permanent products.

Despite of all the beneficial perspectives, the throwaway trend definitely brings out more negative consequences which are environment issues and the appreciation with products. First and foremost, if we keep disposing of the short-time products daily, the environment will have to suffer from tons of rubbish per day. For instance, people usually use plastic bags for shopping purpose and throwing these bags immediately after finnish using them. As many scientists have proved, these kinds of bags need at least a millennium to decompose. As a result, environment pollution is unavoidable if we keep continue throwing things away. Furthermore, using temporary products for long time will lead to the lacking of appreciation with stuffs. As people using things for just one time, they do not feel their responsibility to protect and treasure their objects.

In conclude, I think that the formation of throwaway society is the result of new life-style. As we let this problem continue, it will lead to detrimental issue like environment pollution. So I highly recommend that people should reduce using the temporary products.