More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

After many foodies trends that human have gone through, now we have to face with one of the most difficult consequence, which is obesity. The population of overweight people is skyrocketing in these near centuries. While some people believe that raising the price of fattening food is an efficient way to solve this problem, I am of the opinion that it is far from being of the best method and there are many better measures to tackle the overweight problem.

On the one hand, I concede that making the fattening food more expensive is one way to slow down the increase in the amount of fat people. Because eating these highly fattening, such as fast food, soda, sugar sweetened food, could bring out many risks of being obesity and even heart stroke, diabetes. Thus, the price increase policy may discourage the consumers not to over-consume the junk food and as a result diminishing the percentage of overweight civilians. For example, almost everyone can afford McDonald's nowadays, but if we raise the price higher, some people could lose their interest in consuming that fast food. So in my opinion, I concur that increasing the fatty food’s price is a practical measure to adopt.

On the other hand, I strongly convinced of the opinion that the obesity situation have to be solved by a long-term holistic solution. This is because of gaining weight doesn’t originate only from eating too much fast food, it also have many other reasons. From my perspective, I think there are some better ways to resolve this obesity problem. One of them is that the government should raise citizen’s consciousness about the benefits of having healthy diets and doing exercise. Then, encouraging people consume more balanced diets with a lot of sugar-free food and non-fatty food and go to the gym as much as they can to keep fit.

To conclude, although I accept that raising the price of fatty food is a sensible method to slow down the increase in obesity, I find it there is way better and more effective to tackle this issue. I recommend that the government should bring out lots of campaigns to raise resident’s awareness of eating healthy and doing exercise.