People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university?

The majority of people get enrolled in tertiary education for many different accounts. I suppose that the motivation of the people continues their degree in a college or a university sourced from parent’s demand and self-will.

To begin with, many of student attend from secondary education to the university because the parents of the pupils want their children to obtain the highest achievement of the degree. The degree represents dignity in society for some many parents, which is the degree obtained as high as possible gives respectability among their relatives and neighbors. To those, meanwhile, who have an economically-challenged under the standard of living, obtaining the degree in the university could help the student's family in improvement of family income as well as collateral relative.

On the other hand, some of the students truly realize that continuing the study from senior high school to the tertiary education is a compulsion to them self. They understand that someone is not able to achieve a better career without attending the course in the university. In the Hasanuddin University, for instance, there is a department assisting the student of the university to set up their career goals in advance. The department of career center also prioritizes to help the college students whose get a poor situation, such as less family income and orphan, through the counseling until they can get a job. Additionally, self-reliance of pupils regarding increased knowledge is one of the factors in this accounts.

To sum up, I reaffirm that many of pupils apply to the tertiary education due to requesting from parents and self-reliance.