People believe that being literate in English allows you to acquire better jobs and thus allows one to have access to a better standard of living.

Up to what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

English as a language has been immensely successful around the world, and it is one of the mostly spoken language in the world along with mandarin and hindi. Candidates who are versed in english are known to have a generous job opportunity, especially in a multinational company, and essentially allows to afford a better living standard. I completely agree with the above statement and possible reasons for this scenario will be explained in the following paragraph.

During and after the british rule, the colonized countries were exposed to the language of its ruler. Thus marks the beginning of the cascade and craze over the english language. In this contemporary world, english is spoken in almost all developed and developing nations and english is the mode of language in most prestigious universities of this globe.

Many firms offer jobs to those who are competent in both knowledge of their particular field of study as well as proficiency in english. Therefore, educational institutions are offering individual coaching for students and graduates to help them excel in the language. In addition, this proves they have an upperhand during job interviews. Once a candidate is granted a good job with appreciatable salary, the individual carrier development will have a gradual rise, thereby giving him a chance to make his standard of living better.

To conclude, It is really important to develop skill sets that makes the person a potential candidate for the job and i believe knowing english is one essential compotent of that skill set. Hence, this will offer him to reach further development in his carrier and eventually improving his living standard.