People should look after their health for personal benefits, rather than a duty for a society. What extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that people take care of their physical state for their own advantages instead of social responsibilities. In my opinion, while I agree we should ensure our health for individual benefits, I am against the view that we should not do this as social obligation.

To begin with, there are many benefits to people if they pay more attention to their well-being. To be more specific, by enhancing health condition, people can effectively focus on work and achieve higher productivity, which enables them to climb up their career ladder. In addition, maintaining a good health helps people not only invest in their future life but also provide them with opportunity to pursue their own passion. For example, if we have a good health, we can travel around the world, work for longer hours without exhaustion, earn more money as well as make our life more meaningful.

However, as a part of society, citizens should also have a sense of responsibility for the health of people surrounding us. If an individual does not pay attention to his health care, he will pose a great threat to others. To specify, inhaling secondhand smoke can result in damage to respiratory system, which leads to some diseases such as lung cancer, asthma. Besides, the more sick people increase, the heavier pressure can be put on national budget. If all citizens are healthy, the medical expenses will be low. Hence, the government can allocate this money to more important sectors like education or infrastructure, which helps to boost economic development.

In conclusion, I believe that maintaining a good health should be taken into consideration because this benefits not only every single person but also the whole community.