Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful
career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.
Discuss both views
When they finish school, teenagers face the dilemma of whether to get a job or continue their
education. While there are benefits to getting a job straight after school, I would argue that
it is better to go to college or university.
The option to start work straight after school is attractive for several reasons. Many young people
want to start earning money as soon as possible. In this way, they can become independent, and
they will be able to afford their own house or start a family. In terms of their career, young people
who decide to find work, rather than continue their studies, may progress more quickly. They will
have the chance to gain real experience and learn practical skills related to their chosen
profession. This may lead to promotions and a successful career.
On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for students to continue their studies. Firstly,
academic qualifications are required in many professions. For example, it is impossible to become
a doctor, teacher or lawyer without having the relevant degree. As a result, university graduates
have access to more and better job opportunities, and they tend to earn higher salaries than those
with fewer qualifications. Secondly, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and
sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Young people who do
not have qualifications from a university or college will not be able to compete.
For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that students are more likely to be successful in
their careers if they continue their studies beyond school level.