People should look after their health for personal benefits, rather than a duty for a society. What extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a heated debate on whether people should pay more attention to their wellness for personal advantages or their social responsibility. I believe that individuals should take care of their health for both reasons.

On the one hand, I can explain why people have to be careful about their well-being for personal benefits. To be healthy allows people to be independent and do any activity that they like to perform. These individuals can progress in different fields, such as sports. By contrast, ill people are limited in the range of activities that they are willing to do. For example, disabled people or those with heart problems are not permitted to play football or people suffering from diabetes are advised to stop the consumption of sugar and rice. Additionally, I think that healthful people are more likely to be in better shape and appearance compared to their sick counterparts. Individuals with good health conditions have brighter eyes, softer skin and stronger hair with high quality. As a result, such people can better enjoy their lives.

On the other hand, one of the social obligations of people is to try to be healthy. People with health problems can be a burden to society, as they are a main financial drain on the government budget. When people become ill and are forced to stay at home, the state not only has to spend more money on medical services but also receives less money in tax. Also, these individuals can be a threat to others especially when their illness is contagious. So, it can be argued that unhealthy people can hurt the economy of their country and provide more responsibilities for their family members to look after them. I claim that if people want to be productive members of their society, they should adhere to their social liability and try to be healthy.

In conclusion, in my view, people should look after their well-being for the sake of society and themselves.