People should look after their health for personal benefits, rather than a duty for a society. What extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a heated debate that whether people today should care about their well-being purely to enjoy the personal benefits that are gained from having good health or for social responsibilities. Personally I believe that both purposes are important and people should take an interest in both that not only reap the associated benefits but also as a way of helping uplift the lives of the citizens within their own cities and countries.

To begin with, many people claim that the secret to having a happy life is through achieving and maintaining good health, and I also stand by this notion. When someone experiences good physical and mental health they are able to enjoy their life to the fullest. First, maintaining good health allows people to perform well in other activities, for example, playing sports, working, travelling etc. People in bad shape are limited in the range of activities they can do, such as those suffering from heart diseases not permitted to ride a roller coaster, or those with diabetes are advised against rice consumption. Second, according to WebMD reveals that people who have a balanced diet with a lot of vegetables and fruits tend to have a smooth complexion, bright eyes and healthy hair.

However, today, people more and more susceptible to mental and physical sickness, furthermore infectious diseases are increasing so one should not disregard the responsibility of taking care of one's self for the society's overall wellness. One justifiable reason is that an ill person may be a threat to the bigger population when the disease is highly contagious. In particular, the outbreak of SARs in 2002 and recently Covid-19 in 2020. Moreover, unhealthy individuals can be a burden for society and further hurt the economy. Let's look at the spread of SARs again. The findings of Korea University and The Australian National University disclose that the total global cost of lost economic activity was 80 million USD.

In conclusion, taking care of health is undoubtedly needed for one's own benefits. Nevertheless, it also plays a vital role in ensuring the nation's well-being, which confirms the social responsibility of each individual in maintaining their health.