People who decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it are more likely to have a satisfying working life than those who change jobs frequently To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is often argued that people whose vocations have been chosen from an early age are more contented with their life than those who gravitate towards gaining new experience in different jobs. Personally, in my opinion, changing occupations may bring efficient career progression and better work-life balance.

To begin with, having chosen a particular job from adolescence, people cannot be sure to have the same interests or the equal strive in a couple of decades. It is hardly possible to pursue the same aspiration that would endure throughout their life. It would mean that they may be stuck in demanding jobs that no longer lead to job satisfaction. For instance, childhood dreams to become a surgeon may run up against a lot of obstacles, that efforts to overcome them might not be worth doing ongoing long-term training. Eventually, interest to be a doctor may become thing of the past. Therefore, a job that has been determined at the beginning of a career without taking into account perseverance and endeavors to stick the same path may disillusion people and do not live up to their expectations.

Furthermore, bringing new experiences into people’s life is believed to be a good way to get satisfaction. In other words, occupying a new position would lead not only to acquiring new skills that gain advantages indeed but also establishing new relationships with colleagues and useful networking. What’s more, having rich experience in different field and wide networking put an employee ahead of other making them surpassing from the crowd. It would bring about to better career progression compared with those who work without enhancing their background. In addition, looking for another job tends to mean pay increments, perks, and incentives which in term enable to improve work-life balance. It is therefore clear that gaining new experience in different jobs would efficiently contribute to moving up the ladder and satisfying work-life balance.

In conclusion, although many people believe that holding the same job from scratch may cause job satisfaction, I do not agree. I think hardly ever people are able to stay satisfied with a profession that was chosen many years ago. Conversely having gained experience and wide networking lead to a fulfilling life.