Many people think that keeping the wild animal at the zoos has good reasons. Do you agree or disagree?

Conventional wisdom holds that zoos have important functions by having wild animals. Although undoubtedly, they make a huge contribution to breeding programs for endangered species and providing a safe environment, I believe that imprisoning animals for any reason is simply wrong.

To begin with, despite the useful breeding functions particularly for endangered species that suffer from finding mates and breeding, the majority of captive breeding programs would hardly release animals back into the wild. This is because it may jeopardize them in a world full of predators and poaching. Moreover, most of the species might be sold not only to other zoos but also to circuses or hunting ranches due to high demand and a huge profit. For instance, in the US and South Africa, the wealthy public is enabled to kill animals in a fenced enclosure paining a lot of money. Therefore, supporting international breeding programs does not guarantee subsequent welfare of wild animals.

Furthermore, often animals from zoos no longer can live without human assistance. It would mean that besides zoos would enable these species to live and breed in a secure environment, they deprive them of natural needs either in hunting or in feeding. In addition, they still cannot come close to creating the space and freedom that animals have in natural habitats. Even the best artificial environments hardly ever would replace wild nature. For this reason, it is noticed that capturing animals may give rise to the development of mental illnesses and stress diseases. To illustrate, the life expectancy of marine mammals is decreased by decades in comparison wild relatives. It is therefore clear that safe artificial environments partly might be a sound reason.

In conclusion, although the momentous functions of zoos bring plenty of benefits, from my point of view it may give rise to negative trend such as the business of selling or killing surplus animals after breeding as well as deprivation of natural habitats and there are no important reasons to forgive them.