Film stars and celebrities often share their views on public matters that have little to do with their profession.

Is this a positive or negative development?

It is quite often that well-known figures with large platforms gravitate towards expressing their personal opinion, although they are unversed in that issue. Personally, I believe it is a negative tendency due to powerful influence on citizens.

To begin with, having shared their opinion, famous people may force personal views on the public. It may appear to be detrimental to the public prosperity. What I mean by this, celebrities’ points of view might be the polar opposite to common sense, however, it can be voiced only because the last ones follow the surrounding hype. Furthermore, in order to gain more attention, household names tend to come out and participate in a heated discussion to spark off a new wave of gossip around. To illustrate, a renowned model recently has posted a post related to vaccination about how it is harmful to DNA humanity with no proven evidence. This view has become widespread, wildly disconcerting among their millions of followers.

In addition, average people tend to look for information about public matters from easy-to-read media, where famous actors or singers tend to occupy the top of the news feed. It would mean, being far from public affairs, they not only would impact on the population but also may merely be the one source of knowledge. It is therefore clear, that they are responsible for public opinion, which under no circumstances should not be based on their own views and mood on this matter. Otherwise, they impose their judgments, not the truth.

In conclusion, popular stars such as singers and actors have strong opinions of distinct fields that they convey in public. I hold the view that they have shown negative development and outcomes that are not in the public favor, such as imposing their views and being considered a reliable resource of news.