A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons

In today’s society, an individual is valued against its status and possessions. Some people believe that traditional standards like dignity, goodness, faith are not vital anymore. Tis essay will discuss why I completely disagree with this statement because it is far too draconian.

First, most of the people still make friends and build relations based on long-established standards, such as trust, graciousness, honor etc. In fact, people know that a true and honest friend is far better than a famous one when you need him to be with you in your problematic time. I have a friend; she works in my home to help my mother in household chores. She is my best friend because she is loyal, trustworthy, and honest and listens to me and remains with me in every good and bad time. In short, almost all people give value to traditional morals as opposed to physical possessions and prestige when making friends.

Second, companies gauge their workers based on effort, performance, and honesty instead of their family background or status. For example, according to a survey conducted by the COMSATS University, 74% of business people are looking for business partners who are reliable, trustworthy, and dependable. Clearly, an employee must have these positive values for survival and success in a today’s competitive job environment.

Overall, this essay discussed old-fashioned values are still crucial when making friends and building relations; employers also assess their employees based on these old standards. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this believe that old-fashioned values are looking unimportant.