At the present time the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults compared with the number of older people

In recent years, a youthful population has become the situation in some countries, where the number of young people is higher than the number of old people. In my opinion, an increase in the young population will have a detrimental effect on social aspects.

On the one hand, if a country has more young adults than old people, the economy may be lifted by an abundant labor force. People who are economically active can participate in the manufacturing process and help increase average productivity. This will contribute to attracting international companies to invest in producing systems to outsource their work to third countries, which enhances economic development. For example, as the young Vietnamese population has grown, many foreign-invested factories have been built in the country to take advantage of low production and labor costs.

Despite the demographic dividend that a young population brings, this situation could become a medical burden, especially in developing countries. Young people in these nations have to live in squalid conditions, which is a catalyst for disease outbreaks. The rise in the number of adults of childbearing age is also linked to an increase in the rate of abortion among the young. These two factors simultaneously place the medical system under the pressure of overloading patients. In addition, if young people lack knowledge and working skills, it is difficult for them to have decent jobs and escape poverty. This will lead to an alarming increase in the number of youth offenders committing crimes to earn a living. For instance, a large number of young African criminals have spent their lives in prison because they only have basic knowledge and find it hard to seek a job to pay for their utilities, so they can do nothing but commit a crime to afford their lives. Thus, a lopsided population that includes more young adults may cause medical and social problems.

In conclusion, having a huge number of young people may improve the development of the economy; however, I strongly believe that this situation will put an invisible pressure on the healthcare system and society.