At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Several countries have seen the young population pyramid recently, which implies the number of young citizens is larger than the older civilians. I believe this phenomenon is beneficial to the economy of the countries in many ways that are definitely off-set the drawbacks.

Young people contribute to a great labour force leading the country to be more competitive in the economy. A country with healthy and young labour is likely to be more attractive to foreign direct investment because it offers the investor a stable force of employee. Moreover, goods and services produced would have a better-consumed market due to the large young consumers. The economy would grow the best in an economy with your generation. This argument has been proved by the real case of China and India. The world economy has witnessed the incredible economic growth of the two countries with youngest and healthiest labour force in recent decades.

Dominant number of young people benefits government by pension relief. The taxes collected can be used to build schools, industrial zones and invested in infrastructure instead of using for homes for the aged and pension. Thus, a young-pyramid population reduces the state’s budget burden. For instance, the Vietnamese government expenditure is spent mainly in building roads and educational institutes instead of building health care for the old citizens.

In conclusion, a nation with a predominance of young citizen might have some disadvantages. However, the benefits of young population listed above lead me to a concrete belief that it has more advantage than the population with larger number of old people.