Prevention is better thn cure. Out of country's health budget a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education n preventive measure. Agree or disagree??

The issue of distributing certain amount of healthcare funds has been in headlines, recently. I firmly believe that a large sum of money should be dedicated for health awareness as well as for providing vaccination, since these factors can reduce the breakouts of disease in the community and help reducing health expenses of government.

To start with, health awareness is perhaps the principal source of restricting the spreadable infections. If common people realise that minor changes of their habbits could save them huge expenses on the cure, they definitely adopt healthy lifestyles, and avoid every interaction which can be detrimental to their health. Therefore, the less amount would be needed for government to deal with common epidemics like flu and cough. For instance, by introducing public service messages campaign, NHS saved 15,000 pounds, which would be spent on treating trivial illness of flu otherwise, in the year 2006.

Similarly, investing in providing free vaccination for the serious viral conditions can save health sector up to thousands. The vaccination has an ability to dimish the chances of fatal diseases to take over. Hence, money use to develop and support vaccination in the society could result in better and healthy community and resulting less need of medical assistance. Take polio vaccine as an example, in Pakistan only, health division has been spending 20 % less on the treatment of polio patients just after the introduction of polio vaccine in the country.

In conclusion, I agree that the health department should use large portion of its available funds toward protecting the society to fall ill. Health awareness and vaccination are the two major ways to prevent people being ill, and in terms reduce the money government need to use on the treatment of patients.