The prevention of health problems is more important than treatment. Government funding should reflect that.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that instead of paying for treatment of ill people, the government should try to stop these ailments from occurring on the first place. I disagree with such claims because redirecting fund away from medical care and ill patients can present high risk for the society in short term.

Preventive measures in public health include such important steps as vaccination and promotion of healthy lifestyle. Both can help people to stay healthy for longer, and reduce pressure on the hospitals. These measures require significant financing from the budget. However, the benefits of preventive measures are only seen in the long term perspective and don’t eliminate the illnesses of people who already require medical care today.

High quality medical care available for all population is one of the most important factors in increasing life expectancy in the country. Many people today are already ill and require immediate treatments. If the government lowers its funding for medical care, the hospitals will be plunged in chaos while doctors will struggle to treat people who require urgent help. In such situation, untreated illnesses can lead to deaths, which is unacceptable. The government must make sure it provides necessary medical treatments to people in need.

I recognise the importance of preventing illnesses as a long term policy of a state. However, it is dangerous to promote it at an expense of existing funding dedicated to treating already existing conditions. If done, the measure can lead to serious consequences, including death of hospital patients. All things considered, I disagree that such redistribution policy should be implemented.