Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a concern about the effectiveness of imprisonment in crime prevention as some believe that improvement of education should be an alternative to solve this. However, I personally disagree with this statement. This essay will explain that prison plays an important role in maintain social stability and also education is not always the best choice.

Theoretically, if students are educated well about ethnical values since the early ages, they will be less likely to commit crime. Consequently, when that generation grows up, they will become adults with high social conscience. However, in real life, this does not always happen. Some people, despite being well-educated, have become offenders while some have used their high level of education as a tool to commit criminal activities.

In the contemporary society, it is apparent that imprisonment is the reasonable punishment to many crimes. Some of these are so serious (such as murderer or rapist) that they should be imprisoned. If the punishment is only educational or non-custodial instead, the likelihood of recidivism is high and also there would be many harmful affection to the citizens.

Moreover, a wide range of evils we see nowadays are committed by people having high stages of education. White-collar crime such as bribery or document forfeiture can even be generated by an authority, who is believed by residents as the man of honesty and high intelligence. Additionally, cybercrime is usually conducted by ones who have exceptional understanding of information technology. In light of these examples, education is not an ideal solution to all the crimes. Custodial and non-custodial punishments must be used wisely in each case.

In conclusion, although educational choice has positive sides, it has drawbacks as well. Moreover, prison is crucial in the protection for the fabric of society when it comes to severe offenders. Therefore, I believe that education is not a better solution comparing to imprisonment.