Q13 : Many people are busy with work and do not have enough time to spend with family and friends. Why does this happen? What are the effects of this on family

life and society as a whole?

​Recently, the issue of families spending less time with each other has become the subject of heated debate. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, such as cut-throat competition and the effects on family and social life are numerous. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this undesirable trend and the consequences of it.

​There do seem to be numerous causes underlying this phenomenon. Perhaps the most oft-cited cause of this development could be that competition at work is becoming increasingly fiercer. Employees are constantly struggling to perform better than others, in the hope of promotions and higher earnings, and as a result, they are required to work longer hours. Another principal cause is that our lives take place at a higher speed than ever before, especially regarding work. To be specific, although the introduction of technology such as email, smartphones, and Skype has made it possible for people to work faster and more efficiently, the amount of work-related stress has soared accordingly.

There are a number of negative effects of this development on family bonds. First and foremost, the divorce rate is rising considering that people are spending less time with their family members. Couples are unable to communicate and consequently relationships deteriorate. In addition, friends who see each other less frequently owing to work commitments drift apart and eventually lose contact, which exerts a negative influence on building a strong relationship with one another. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for a heavy workload, people would be more likely to keep in touch with their acquaintances on a regular basis.

​In conclusion, the aforementioned problems have resulted from various causes suggested above and are very serious. However, if every sector of our society makes a concerted effort, we can combat the problems.