Q22. Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Recently, the issue of residing abroad has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that moving to a country where a foreign language is spoken can lead to social and practical issues, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that living in a foreign nation and speaking in a second language can cause problems for individuals. An obvious problem is that being forced to communicate in a language other than one's mother tongue often makes it difficult for people to deal with their small daily tasks, such as purchasing groceries and taking trips, which can even result in people experiencing high levels of stress. Another problem exerting a detrimental influence on society is that the language barrier can prevent speakers of different languages from connecting with each other, which may give rise to misunderstandings and cultural conflicts.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that dwelling overseas merely brings with it negatives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that those who have lived in foreign nations have a predisposition not only to become proficient in foreign languages but also to have a tight grasp of other cultures, which can have a positive effect on their future careers. As an illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, in the year 2018, approximately 80% of large corporations in South Korea were inclined to prefer to hire job seekers who had resided in a foreign nation considering that the economy of South Korea revolves around global trade. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.