Q8 As countries develop more and more people buy and use their own cars Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment.

Recently, an increase in the number of personal vehicles has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some disadvantages to a rise in the number of private vehicles for individual people, these are exceeded by the disadvantages for the environment, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that a myriad of people purchasing cars pose a threat to the environment do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that a huge amount of CO2 released by cars leads to air pollution doing harm to people's well-being and mental health. In addition, not only does an astronomical quantity of carbon dioxide emitted by personal vehicles accelerate the speed of global warming giving rise to climate change, but it also exerts a detrimental influence on numerous endangered species of animals and plants that play a vital role in keeping biodiversity.

My opinion, however, is that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from the availability of cars. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the use of cars can facilitate various aspects of people's daily lives, from commuting to and from work to purchasing groceries. To be more specific, car users are capable of driving to work with greater ease given that passengers of public transport often spend a huge amount of time travelling to their workplaces. This is because buses and metros are often crowded and are sometimes unavailable. Furthermore, personal vehicles make it possible for tourists to take trips in a convenient way since travellers do not need to worry about problems related to public transport systems, such as being limited to fixed routes and timetables. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the benefits of a climb in the number of personal vehicles for everyday people surpass the drawbacks for the environment for the reasons discussed above.