Q8 As countries develop more and more people buy and use their own cars Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment.

Recently, an increase in the number of personal vehicles has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some disadvantages to more people purchasing and utilising private vehicles for the environment, there are exceeded by the advantages for everyday people, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that a rise in the number of cars poses a threat to the environment do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that a huge amount of CO2 emitted by private vehicles causes air pollution that does harm to people's mental and physical health. In addition, an astronomical quantity of carbon dioxide released by cars accelerates the speed of global warming resulting in climate change, which prevents living creatures, including numerous endangered species of animals and plants that should be protected in order to keep biodiversity, from living a longer life.

My opinion, however, is that mankind can reap a myraid of advantages from the availability of personal vehicles. Perhaps the principal advantage is that owning a car enables individual people to facilitate various aspects of their daily lives, from commuting to and from work to buying groceries. To be more specific, car users are able to travel to their workplaces with greater ease given that passengers of public transport often spend a great deal of time travelling to work. This is mainly because buses and metros are often too crowded and are sometimes unavailable. Furthermore, those who possess their own cars are capable of taking trips in a convenient way since they do not need to take into account problems related to public transportation systems, such as being limited to fixed routes and timetables. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the benefits of making use of cars for humans surpass the drawbacks for the environment for the reasons discussed above.