Question in 11/10/2014, Vietnam:

Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the increasing usage of mobile phones and computers has led to the depletion of opportunities to communicate face to face. I partly agree with this idea.

On the one hand, humans' communication has been narrowed down due to the using of mobile phones and computers. Firstly, many people are too dependent on high-tech devices that they neglect having actual contact with other people. For example, more and more youngsters are not only always glued to the tiny mobile screens but also attached to messaging each other through social networking sites that they have gotten less involved in actual face-to-face conversations at school. Secondly, the considerable attachment to computers makes a contribution that is some children have been segregated from their parents. Children who are engrossed in computer games usually participate less in family outings, which creates a downfall in communication.

On the other hand, technologically cutting-edge devices are advantageous in some way. One reason is that on account of those social networking apps, individuals are allowed to strengthen their relationships no matter where they are in the world. For instance, the incredible development of communicating apps in general and Skype in particular has provided people to have international calls which are able to last for hours by using any technological device having Wi-Fi connection. Another reason is that people could both save a great deal of money and still keep in touch with each other more efficiently by using any kinds of hi-tech equipment. In my experience, the traditional way of communicating via letters had cost individuals a large amount of money and they usually used to have to wait for a long time to actually receive others' answers. In contrast, a person now has the ability to keep themselves up-to-date with any information from his family members without any expensive fees, using the automatically installed apps on mobile phones.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that computers and cellphones have caused the decline in communication but this is by no means the factor driving the way people communicate to extinction.