Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the young individual and the whole community could take a huge advantage of the voluntary work which is done by all teenagers in their spare time. However, I do not consider that this social activity should become compulsory for all students.

On the one hand, voluntary activities which are done by youngsters is beneficial to not only the whole society but also the young themselves. Firstly, teenagers are provided an ability to gain real and valuable experiences. For example, If adolescents have an opportunity to travel abroad to help with unpaid jobs in the UK, these students will be definitely given the countless chances to improve their English skills. Secondly, the community will have social work done by teenagers for which there is no financial support. In my experience, disabled children living in the poor regions of Vietnam would have never had approach the educational curriculum program if the volunteers, which were all students coming from more developing cities, hadn’t come to support them.

On the other hand, I do not agree that a group of young people should be given the added responsibility of working to volunteer as this suggestion is disadvantageous to some extent. One reason is that some youths are usually occupied with assignments from schools and they have no time left for helping the community voluntarily. For instance, the students who have been taking the undergraduate courses at top-tier institutions have spent so much time on researches and other academic performances that they could not attend any other outdoor activities. Another reason which should be considered thoroughly is that all youths also need some free time based on each person’s conditions. If a person has been struggling with his tuition fees, he should be encouraged to work his way through university in order to cover the expense.

In conclusion, while I completely agree that volunteering has brought benefits to both young generation and the entire society, I do not believe that people should make this compulsory.