In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

You should give reasons for your answer using your own ideas and experience.

Reading is particularly significant part of our mental development and as a variety of options are highly increased far and wide, the process of reading is not an exception. People have divergent opinions with regard to kinds of books to choose for reading: somebody is used to printed books, whereas others find e-books more beneficial. It is of note that the trend of increasing popularity of electronic books has both advantages and disadvantages, which will be considered in detail.

On the one hand, people have plethora of options to read book electronically, such as e-readers, computers, laptops, tablets and other devices. It is absolutely obvious that electronic books are much more convenient rather than paper ones. For instance, they provide precious opportunity to install as many books in one device as you prefer, while it will not take a lot of spare place in your home and moreover, the device would be easily mobile, suggesting you read wherever you want. Besides, e-readers and computer libraries could substantially simplify your reading, because of availability of constant search services. These advancements allow you instantaneously look through the book, whether you look for word or the whole phase.

On the other hand, despite the fast-paced spread of e-books, it could be hard to imagine, that printed books will be lost irrevocably one day. I believe that majority of people feel special cultural ambiance, majesty and simplicity simultaneously while reading ordinary books, especially it matters for elderly people. In addition, modern trend of digitalization appears dramatically everywhere, paper book extinction will totally deprive us the chance to leave the computer society at least for several hours a day. The least and the last printed books are more advantageous than electronic ones due to it availability for everyone, from the point of its cost. It is saddening to say, but today population has still individuals who can not afford even daily meal, nothing sad about an electronic device.

To conclude, I reckon that advantages and drawbacks of the arising trend of e-books keep a balance nowadays. It is a kind of personal question which way opt for reading.