Research has shown that the transportation of products and people are the main source of pollution. Some people believe government should be in charge of this, while others believe it is the fault of individuals. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Research has shown that the transportation of products and people are the main source of pollution. Some people believe the government should be in charge of this, while others believe it is the fault of individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The environmental degradation engendered by transportation has raised an intricate conundrum among a great majority of people. Opinions differ as to whether the government or individuals should take responsibility in dealing with the pollution caused by transportation. Much as I agree that the government is partly responsible for the dispute, I think more duty should be placed on individuals per se.

On the one hand, people who claim that the government is obliged to deal with such a bleak reality of pollution have a number of plausible supports for their viewpoint. To commence with, it has been widely acknowledged that the government is responsible for assuring the safety of a nation’s environment, therefore they unarguably must enforce policies restricting actions that pose threats to its degradation. Moreover, by enacting laws against the rampant utility of transportation, the government shows concern for the prosperity of a region concerning every aspect of it. Such an action would immensely heighten the respect of dwellers to their authority.

Another school of thought, mine included, is that each individual must be accountable for the threat posed by transportation to the environment. Firstly, there is no room for doubt that a fresh atmosphere would ensure a healthy and balanced physical life for every single human being. With that being stated, it is the duty of individuals to maintain an uncontaminated environment, since we are the first ones to benefit from it. Adding further, governmental policies would prove fruitless without the realization of each person's obligation to save the planet. Simply speaking, restraining oneself from a financial benefit at the cost of the environment should be acted out of pure realization in lieu of restriction from an authority, for it is feared that a set of written rules would be overshadowed by a person’s financial greed.

All in all, the above-mentioned discussion has elaborated on why the responsibility is on both the government and individuals. My viewpoint, however, has it that individuals should be obliged to deal with such a looming predicament.