Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In these days, the popularity of holding meetings and training via Internet is increasing dramatically. I would concede that although this trend does come with some adverse effects, yet the benefits created by it far eclipse the disadvantages.

On the one hand, this tendency certainly exerts a detrimental implication to participants. Firstly, in all likelihood, there are a number of people finding it difficult to utilize technology. The reason could be that they can not keep track of the latest software so they struggle to make use of them . For example, to elder staffs, it would take them a wide amount of time to understand and get use to modern programs. Secondly, connection would not always be guaranteed during meetings, which could affect the effectiveness of discussions immensely. Truly, because of disruption, participants could lose track of progress of meetings, as a result, there would be some misunderstanding or confusion.

There are, however, some dazzling advantages of online meetings can easily overshadow the disadvantages of that. The first plus point is that it helps people save both time and money. For instance, in the past, to meet colleagues working in other branches along a country, members of a company had to make long and expensive trips, but now, thanks to the development of technology, they can interact with each other without commuting long distances. Moreover, files can be updated and even modified immediately without any delay in online discussions. The fact is that people can share presentation and information conveniently to all other members, who join the conference within a minute, then they could give back comments, therefore, the quality of the presentation could be enhanced.

In conclusion, from my perspective, there are more advantages than disadvantages to organize online meetings. Thus, this tendency should be encouraged continuously in the future.