Research suggest that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison would commit crime when set free Why do you think is the case What can be done to solve this problem

It is maintained that a high percentage of prisoners re-offend as soon as they are released back into the community. In my opinion, there are two possible root causes of committing crime again that will be examined in this essay as well as potential measures to tackle this issue.

To begin with, prison is believed to be an ineffective way for punishment since in many cases, it educates prisoners in the ways of the criminal. This is because petty crimes offenders would serve out their sentence with those who commit more serious crimes such as sex offenses and serial killers. Thus, having rubbed shoulders with murders and rapists, minor offenses may learn how to live a life of violent crimes and eventually commit serious crimes. Furthermore, previous crime records affect the normal life of people who have just been released from prison. In other words, they find it difficult to fit in back into everyday life, establish new relationships with society and find a paid job. For instance, previous crime records may diminish job prospects in banking or civil engineering. Therefore, lack of opportunity immerses themselves back into society gives rise to feelings such as alienation that eventually force them to turn to crime again.

To address this issue the government should take drastic measures to prevent reoffending. Firstly, they should implement rehabilitation for those who faced trials for petty crimes. What I mean by this, minor lawbreaking such as vandalism or tax evasion should repay the victim or society with a suitable punishment like community service. It might be more effective compared to imprisonment on a common basis. Secondly, inmates should be allowed to study. This is important because having got transferrable skills open further job opportunities after their release. It does not only boost their spirits to find their place in a law-abiding community but also occupy their mind from turning to crime.

In conclusion, according to research majority of crimes were committed by re-offenders. Personally, I hold the view that the reason is that minor and more serious crimes are locked up in the same cells and previous records prevent them to come back to normal life. Rehabilitation programs and education while sentences may fight re-offend crime.