Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison would commit crimes when set free? What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Nowadays, the number of recidivists are increasing, which causes seriously calamitous results to society. This essay will discuss two main causes of this phenomenon and suggest some methods to defuse the situation.

There are various reasons why most offenders relapse into criminal behavior after being released, two of which are having difficulty in finding an employment and negative long-term effect during imprisionment. First, the majority of employers do not tend to hire people who used to be thrown in jail because they think those malefactors are potential to reoffend such as stealing company’s cash or harming other staffs. When those deliquents are not givens stable job, they can not earn for their living. Therefore, they will commit crimes again in order to get money and save their lives. Second, when we leave criminals in an environment which is full of hatred, negativity and violence such as prison, they are obviously hard to rehabilitate because they get used to brutal acts over punishment time.

However, there are numerous measures that government should take into consideration to address this issue, including providing criminals vocational schemes and reducing violence in jail. As mentioned, the majority of offenders relapse into crime due to lack of money, so government might organize some training courses related to specific jobs such as plumbers, electricians, etc to help them get jobs after being released. When they have salary to meet their demand, they will lose their motives to commit crimes again. Moreover, during the time of being punished, delinquents should be behaved in positive way, which means they should be educated what is right or wrong and encouraged to rehabilitate.

In conclusion, there are many reasons leading to the increase in recidivists such as finding tough to get jobs and adverse impact of prison environment. Nevertheless, the government should consider providing criminals vocational schemes or reducing negative effect of imprisonment to defuse this trend.