In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In recent decades, many urban citizens prefer living alone or in nuclear families to living in joint families, which becomes a controvesial issue among society. From my viewpoint, I believe this phenomenon is positive because of some specific reasons.

First, civic parents are aware of their responsibility and their role in shaping children’s personalities, so they often spend time taking care of their kids by themselves. Children in nuclear families are more close-knit with their parents than those in extended families because they can directly share their problems and have frank discussions with parents about their problems. In joint families, parents are too busy with their businesses, so they tend to rely on other family members to look after their kids. Sometimes children can find it hard to share their issues with grandparents, aunts or uncles, which is potential to cause some metal illnesses including depression and autism. Second, when children are grown up, they need more privacy, particularly private rooms, living in small family units will ensure all members have enough space to enjoy their personal lives.

However, there are several negative impacts on people's lives when living alone or in nuclear families, including insecurity of children and financial problems. In small family units, both husband and wife are busy earning a living outside, then children are neglected and looked after by the servants. They might feel lonely and unsafe due to care deficiency from parents. Also, either husband or wife is incapable of working, life will become harder because of the lack of money, which seldom happens in extended families because people can support each other. Moreover, when living alone, people can face some disadvantages such as no one will take care of them when they are sick.

In conclusion, whether urban people should live alone, in nuclear families or in joint families depends on their demands and living conditions. In my opinion, I still believe living alone or in small family units is a positive trend.