Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

In this contemporary era, there is an inclination in old values preservation, especially in protecting and refurbishing buildings. In the same line with this, people polarise whether the government should channel resources into this area or new houses and roads constrcution. This essay will throw some light on both notions of the concept and give a personal conclusion.

To commence with, there are some justifications for those who criticize restoration. They can conceive of old buildings as being fragile. Their structures might be too dangerous for citizens to live or work in. The government's effort in these places' expenditure could be considered as squandering a colossal amount of money. Instead, the administration should focus on upgrading national infrastructure, including houses and roads to fulfill their residents' welfare. For instance, 20 years ago, Danang authorities transformed the Han riverside with many old-fashioned and delicate houses is to walk promenade areas for people to enjoy an assortment of outdoor pursuits. This is a robust evidence of the investment in our lives' development.

In a stark contrast, we should not underrate the role of old buildings' renovation. These sites could reserve historical values and constitute a crucial part of a country's culture. The country which focuses on the restoration of these invaluable features could attract publicity, especially historic lovers. Many experts prove this as a stimulus of the tourism industry, which can foster the economy and provide a thousand stable jobs for citizens. Hoi An Old Town is a precise example. The government has spared no effort and expense to protect and preserve its old constructions, not only to attract tourists but also to preserve the indigenous culture.

To recapitulate, I must pen down that depending on the condition and value of each building, a different viewpoint can be put into consideration. In the end, it is the government that makes a wise decision based on each situation and their residents' demands.