The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous governments' expenditures. This money should be used in new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a significant fund that was allocated to restore old buildings in major cities has been provoked debates whether that money should spend for alternative usages such as for new housing and road development. In my opinion, the restoration of old buildings is essential and play an important role in human development.

First, old buildings are a representation of the traditional characteristics of cities. Old buildings are the past that making what cities become today and should be respected and reserved so that our children have somethings to know about their ancient’s life. For instance, London or Paris – one of the biggest cities in the world spend a lot of money in the preservation of old and elegant buildings to respect their historical and cultural values. For that reason, the world can study their history through the architectures with admirable feelings. Also, glorious and elegant constructions which have remained over the decades are the eminent objects to draw tourist’s attention and making huge domestic income.

Second, new housing and road development are necessary for modern citizens, but we still combine that development with restoring old buildings in terms of functional aspect. In particular, authorities can take advantages of reusing old buildings for residential and business activities. For example, an old building can be restored then buying for city dwellers to live or open stores. Obviously, stores with historical and cultural facades will draw more superior attention and will have highly appreciated by customers.

In conclusion, the restoration of the old building not only preserve the beauty of culture but also bring promising profits from tourists. And governments should bring it into serious consideration when discussing developmental policies.