Sample topic: Children who start reading earlier in life, perform better later on in their school studies.

How important are early reading skills in a child’s academic performance?

What other preschool factors influence a child’s later academic achievements?

It is denial that reading is one of the most critical skills for children in their early life. Reading can increase the study performance by not only improving kids’ analyzing skills but also suppling them with much basic knowledge. However, apart from this skill, there are two more capabilities that can help children study better such as confidence and communication skill.

Admittedly, reading is of paramount importance to students’ progress in education. First, kids can improve their self reasoning skills through reading books. Reading requires kids to understand the content involved; hence, they must combine skimming and scanning skills in order to analyze information in a book, which can optimize their brain’s productivities. Second, books can supply children with an abundance of basic knowledge. There was research in Vietnam in 2017, comparing the amount of knowledge between students who read books and those who did not. The result signified the much higher disparities in academic levels of the former to the latter. Therefore, practicing reading for students can increase their sources of knowledge by adding basic information to their minds, putting them one step ahead in schooling than those who ignore reading skills.

On the other hand, communication and confidence are the two unelectable factors that can help children’s schooling successes. When it comes to confidence, students in this day and age are required to speak in front of a crowd, so it needs a high confidence level. If students believe in themselves, they can take part in speaking competitions where they can have a chance to win a prize, and also promotions in their studies. Moreover, kids need must try to strengthen their communication skills, so they can exchange knowledge with other friends. School’s syllabus contains many subjects, while some children do not have enough knowledge in several fields. Therefore, they must level up themselves by communicating with their classmates, picking understanding from friends’ brains, so that they can avoid getting bad scores in the tests.

To conclude, children can not only better their studying by practicing reading, but also through formulating confidence and communication skill.