for school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The development of children’s intelligence and social skills are built by a wide variety of factor and other people around, especially their tutors and parents. Some people argue that teachers have more effects on students’ development of intelligence and social knowledge than their mother and father. I totally dispute with this statement, I believe that students’ intelligent and social development are affected by their parents rather than ones’ teachers.

Some individuals put forward the view that teachers can make more significant contributions to the intelligence and social improvement of school children than their relatives. Firstly, educators who are trained pedagogy skills of their professional areas know a number of ways to impact students’ knowledge and develop imaginative ways. Such effective methods can stimulate children’s academic abilities. In addition, the young generation can cultivate social skills by helping and guidance from their tutors. For example, in national history lessons, students can be taught a great deal of knowledge of history events which happened in various ancient periods. As a result, they could improve social knowledge such as their national culture, thus showing respect toward cultural values as well as their ancients.

I am convinced that parents seem to be more important than teachers to children’s intelligence and social enhancement. Firstly, parents can stimulate the learning process of their children. In fact, although at school teachers imparted their knowledge to students, pupils will not remember the knowledge without support from their family. Furthermore, parents can play a major role in students’ social development. The main reason is that they spend far more time with their children than any individual teacher is able to do. Therefore, they can monitor the activities of children outside school hours, at the weekend and during holiday and teach them how to behave properly like showing respect toward elders or proper behaviours in public.

In conclusion, some people think that teachers are the main factor contributing to children’s intelligence and social development. However, I argue that parents have more impacts on the two factors than individual tutors.