Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Many people assume that it is beneficial to the environment and economy if residents consume food in their own areas. However, there are also a wide variety of disadvantages in this case, and I think the drawbacks outweigh its merits.

On the one hand, some individuals argue that eating local cuisine can play a significant role in the preservation of the environment. In fact, delivering food in long-distance need packaging to cover dishes, which results in the land, water pollution as the increase in a large number of non-biodegradable rubbishes released into the environment. Furthermore, they also think that this way can save a lot of money. For example, when they have lunch at a local restaurant, they will not have to pay for shipping fee while enjoying various delicious foods. And then they could spend the amount of money on other purposes such as education and entertainment.

On the other hand, I personally think that there are more disadvantages in the case of just using local food. The most obvious consequence is that local people will have fewer opportunities to enjoin various specialists from other areas. It is serious that if this condition lasted for a long time in countries which do not have developed agriculture filed, the citizens could face the shortage of food. Furthermore, a country will not advertise and export their agricultural products when others do not consume food derived from other countries. As a result, the country would lose a large amount of income from exporting its products which play a vital role in its economic prospect.

In conclusion, although not eating delivered food can be a benefit to many aspects of human life, I suppose that its disadvantages are more than its advantages.