Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Discipline is a must in children, and can be achieved in many ways, either through punishment or making kids understand politely. Some parents believe that physical punishment is the most effective way in order to raise their child as a well-mannered being. This essay will argue that spanking children will have adverse effects on the mindset of kids, hence I completely disagree with the above-mentioned belief.

Parents always want their children to be well-behaved in society. To begin with, people believe that serving physical punishment after making mistake will make children remember the pain. Hence, the child will avoid doing the same unacceptable activity again. For instance, the research from the children protection association shows that 70% of parents slap their children when at fault. Thus, many parents strongly believe hitting the child will make him avoid repeating the same incorrect activity again.

Slapping or punishing the child physically also has a bad influence on the child’s mentality. In a long run, these children become more stubborn and start developing a feeling of disrespect for their parents. For example, many children start reacting aggressively, always carrying harsh feelings for their parents. Instead, it is always better to talk to a child and explain their mistake. Eventually, the child will understand the scenario and work on improving his/her mistake. To sum up, I strongly disagree with the notion of hitting the child for their mistake and support them by speaking to them.

In conclusion, we argued that spanking is not the solution for misbehaving children. In my opinion, children should be counseled and should be given a second chance to improve their mistakes instead of punishing them physically.