Small businesses should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Gender is deemed to be a controversial issue in recruitment. Some people believe that small businesses would rather not employ young women who have not established their own family because of later paying maternity leave. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this action.

Each kind of person has their own strength, and young single women, in some cases, even display better performance compared to married ones. When a woman does not have her own family, she has more time, more enthusiasm, and better mental or physical health owing to the fact that she does not have any burden of taking care of her sweet home. By contrast, for those who have already got married, not only do they have to spend time with their children but they also have to handle housework or their family-in-law, especially in Vietnamese culture. As a result, young women would be a crucial and ideal factor which helps a business to have top prospects.

Furthermore, the above point of view is too critical and overrated. Women have to suffer a lot during the occasion looking after their offsprings, so getting maternity leave should not be one of the aspects to recruit a woman. Besides, men cannot give birth, which means that this payment does not prevent them from applying for a business and men consequently account for a higher proportion in those firms which pay much attention to maternity leave. With current development of society, the public would not response to such discrimination in gender like this.

To conclude, there are several ways to save the cost for a company apart from trying to avoid paying maternity leave. I suppose that if companies resist this old-fashion view, they would probably miss any opportunity to thrive.