To solve the ever-increasing environmental hazards throughout the world, the best way is to increase the price of fuel. What is your opinion on the above assumption?

Environmental damages around the world have always been on increasing due to numerous reasons and some people say that it could be addressed by raising the cost of petroleum products such as petrol and diesel. Whereas, I believe that increasing the price of fuel alone cannot help in providing a solution to environmental damages, as there are several other key issues to be addressed.

It is true that burning of fossil fuels adversely impacts our environment. Carbon-di-oxide and other greenhouse gases emitted by vehicles and factories are the primary reason for global warming. Besides depleting the ozone layer, they also cause climate changes to occur. Nevertheless, in my view, increasing the cost of fuels alone will not be a sufficient measure to tackle this ever-increasing undesirable trend.

In order to reduce the usage of fuel, instead of increasing the cost of petroleum products several other efficient measures could be implemented by the government. Firstly, the state must take measures to reduce the number of vehicles owned by an individual and heavy tax shall be imposed on those who have cars or bikes beyond the limits specified by the lawmakers. Secondly, people shall be encouraged to use public transports. Accordingly, the government should take steps to create and maintain an effiecient publice transport system by building bridges, streamiling the traffic, etc which will enable people to opt for public transportaion. Thirdly, every individual must take an effort to use bicycles or electric vehicles, which are not depended upon fuel for their operations. Finally, apart from the above measures other primary reasons for environmental damages such as deforestation and over usage of plastics should be strictly eradicated from the system.

To recapitulate, although it is an undeniable fact that over-consumption of fossil fuels produces undesirable results to an environment, raising the cost of fuels alone will not help us in the battle against such severe environmental damage. To fight against this negative trend, there are several other efficient measures as mentioned above in the essay shall be implemented.