Some believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor people, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the advent of new technology, some people afraid that the gap between the rich and the poor will be increased. However, others oppose this belief. In my view, I lean towards the proposed idea.

To begin with, it is understandable why some people say that the margin between the two classes would not be affected by modern technology. One reason is that people could have an equal status when using hi-tech devices. With the help of smartphones and laptops, individuals could join online networks without any exposure of their financial backgrounds and connect to others. At most of the time, users’ status is kept private which means that neither the rich or the poor know about the opposite person’s financial information while using online technology. For example, many people still socialize with the rich society on Facebook even though, secretly, they are broke.

However, I side with those who think that technology will increase such a gap. One reason to support my standpoint is that all newest hi-tech inventions are far from poor people’s reach. In fact, these gadgets can only be seen possessed by wealthy people because these products are prohibitively expensive. This leaves the poor the only option to own old or even obsolete, but much more affordable technology items. In real life, people always compare themselves to others via technology accessories, which means, in this case, poor people are completely dominated by the rich. For example, kids with the latest iPhone X will become the center of the universe whereas those who can only afford old models will become ignored and stay at bottom of the society.

In conclusion, I believe that the rich will always be far ahead of poor people in this era of technology.