Some believe the primary purpose of museums is to entertain people, while others believe their purpose is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Generally speaking, museums all over the world serve a wide range of purposes. Although the old-school role of museums is to boost understanding, there is a flashback in society with many people visiting some museums for amusement. This essay will look at both perspectives before a conclusion is declared.

On the one hand, looked at from financial perspective, museums established for amusement can be profitable for a country. The Paradise in Pattaya, an art museum in Thailand which exhibits 3D paintings on walls drawn by local artists and attracts thousands of foreign tourists every year, plays a good example. With tourists flocking to this museum comes in tandem a considerable income to the museum, local restaurants and hotels, and the government. Apparently, this centre does little to boost visitors learning but caters as lucrative provenance to a nation.

On the other hand, museums are hailed as educational facilities to impart an understanding of a nation’s history. For example, Saad Abad Museum, a history museum in Iran, is a magnet for domestic tourism, which enhances people’s understanding of their culture by exhibiting heavily placarded artifacts from the Stone Age until today. One intangible benefit of this education is the promotion of patriotism after people become familiar with their glorious background and learn about how they became a nation and endured hardship, a clear deterrent to the dissolution of this country. Accordingly, the role of a museum in education should be admired.

In summary, museums can be seen as both money-making elements and means of education. Since these two aspects are conducive to the wealth and prosperity of a country, it seems impossible to accentuate one role as the “primary” goal. I hope, museums can adapt in that they can bring about make the cut in these two aspects.