Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

While traditionally migration did not use to be so common, nowadays vast numbers of people tend to migrate to foreign countries in order to seek a better life. Although some may believe that migration does not make any problems, others, including myself, argue that it would bring a various kind of issues such as language barrier, which itself leads to communication difficulties.

Language barrier would make people isolated. Foreigners almost always have some problems in speaking and listening and so interaction with native people is difficult for them, as a result of which misinterpreting and misunderstanding could happen and a working relationship cannot be formed. Therefore, overseas people are opted out from society and feel shunned and rejected.

Moreover, migrants usually do not have successful job prospects. As their language skills are not fluent yet, they would face many problems at their workplace, especially in communicating with clients or writing official letters. Consequently, most of the time they do not perform well at work and are made redundant, resulting in financial problems as well.

On the other hand, some may argue that language barrier is not a significant problem since migrants could learn the new language fast and easily. However, it should be noted that adults’ brains are not much fresh to learn a new language straightforwardly and this is just possible for young children.

In conclusion, I think migrating to another country with another language to speak, might cause so many difficulties. The main ones are, feeling isolated and not being able to find a job.