Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, aunt, uncle, cousins) now is less important than it was in the past.

lifestyle today has been altered dramatically compared to the past. Among the most significant changes is the evanescence of extended families. In my opinion, this is witnessed as such a family is no longer catering to humans' requirements. Analysing how new ways of living obviate the needs for extended families will substantiate this.

Firstly, one obsolete role of an extended family was taking care of new-born babies, a vital task, and this responsibility is taken by daycares nowadays. children are taken care of by these institutions for they are staffed with well-trainded teams; babies start developing skills such as painting and potters by attending daycares, a fabulous headstrat for endulging in arts after they grow up. this clear advantage could not have been seen had the same task been given to grandparents.

long ago, a considerable significance of extended families was the economical lifestyle achieved by sharing expenses. For example, a large group of people would share the same house and use less electricity and thus save more money. However, these days most counties are experiencing a more affluent life which does not require such considerations.

On the other hand, an extended family can yet be cherished since it probably gives the children an opportunity to know about the families' values such as religious beliefs. As evident, grandparents, when living with young people, revitalise such old traditions. The problem with this benefit is that the value of sticking to old traditions is no longer embraced by experts as it is likely to trigger arguments leading to serious battles.

In summary, the merits of living in an extended family, such as financial support and helping with children's upbringing, are eclipsed by the modern lifestyle. Accordingly, an extended family is no longer as important as it used to be. Predictable, extended families will be even more forgotten in the foreseeable future.