Technology is becoming increasingly prevalent in the world today. In the not too distant future, technology will completely replace the teacher in the classroom. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The use of technology is increasing rapidly in the modern world. Growing technological influence can even be seen in the classroom. Despite this, I disagree that technology will completely replace human teachers in the foreseeable future. Analysing the inability of a technology-driven teacher to both cater to student learning needs and instil motivation will show this.

Firstly, a teacher powered by artificial intelligence would have difficulty interpreting the educational needs of a classroom of students. For example, Honda Asimov, one of the world’s most advanced robots, has trouble distinguishing simple human emotions. If today’s most advanced artificial intelligence cannot categorise these basic physical cues, it is difficult to believe that a robot could be capable of altering study plans and teaching styles in a dynamic classroom setting. Thus, this makes it clear that a technology-driven teacher is not going to be operational anytime in the near future.

Secondly, a robotic teacher would not be able to establish the emotional connection needed to motivate students. The American scientific theory of education plays a good example here. This widely supported theory argues that young learners are most motivated when they share an emotional relationship with their instructor. As most would agree expecting children to form emotional ties to machinery is unrealistic, the argument that technology will replace the teacher in the classroom can be debunked.

However, a computerised teacher would not tire, and this endurance makes it the optimal

choice for lesson exercises that require repetition. A primitive instance of this is exemplified by iPad apps that teach young children simple vocabulary in entertaining ways. Because this machinery-based lesson arrangement can carry on indefinitely, children can continue learning for much longer periods of time than realistically possible with a human teacher. As convincing as this point is, exercises requiring repetition are only a small part of the overall teaching process. Thus, technology cannot be expected to carry out all tasks of human teachers in the classroom.

In summary, a robotic teacher would lack the classroom dynamism and emotional intelligence needed to be an effective designer. Thus, it is clear why having a class run entirely by a machine is an idea that will not be realised anytime soon. As this essay has shown, computer technology will not replace traditional human teachers in the foreseeable future.