News stories on Tv and in Newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

One of the foremost goals of news agents and broadcasting channels on TV and newspapers’ journalists is to grab more and more public attention. To catch this aim, they apply a rich variety of strategies, one of the most influential of which is adding visual items to their reports. Personally, I concur with the effectiveness of this technique due to a variety of reasons such as attractiveness and effectiveness of pictures over words.

Firstly, regarding news coverage on TV, accompanying visual sections with the story being told as well as playing the voices or sounds from a scene of an event can result in an increased influence of that piece of news. For example, showing bloodshed or corpses during a war report can be taken as a notable instance of the above-mentioned effects. Predictably, the viewers of these scenes get tremendously influenced, and this great influence can lead to immense anti-war emotions throughout the world.

Secondly, considering newspapers, as one of the most popular media, having various sorts of reports plus pertinent pictures may contribute to its level of attractiveness. To illustrate, it seems obvious that photos are an integral part of paper reports since newspapers tend to be dull and boring if they contain thousands of mute words without any images. Take for example, a smoker who just has an inattentive glance on a newspaper; very probably he will not read an article with regard to deleterious consequences of smoking if there are no pictures of cigarettes or diseased lungs befriending the report; hence, these are the pictures that can make him have a more detailed look over the paper.

All in all, it is true to value pictures over words in terms of being more breath-taking and eye-catching for the broadcasting media such as TV and newspaper, owing to the huge inspiration and attraction they provide any sorts of news with.