Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this modern era, technology has become a part and parcel of one’s life. Smartphones are one among these gadgets that are widely used by all age groups of people especially children. Doubtlessly, it has made human life easier, but at the same time has given rise to adversities. This essay will discuss both the perspectives.

To commence with positives, with the access of internet to a smartphone, kids can surf information about everything. This will help them better understand about the concepts taught in school and aid them in increasing their knowledge base. Furthermore, not only studies but students can also gain extra skills like music and dance. It serves many upsides, one of the best example would be during the pandemic, where children couldn’t go to school and attend their classes as a result of which online classes came into existence. Most of the students attended their class via such modern gadgets. It indeed was a saviour. Additionally, it is also a good source of entertainment.

Despite the advantages, there is a downside to it. Long exposure of screen that emits blue lights can hurt eyes, further more can elevate to a headache due to its extensive use and result in a health hazard. Likewise, there is an ill-effect on mind as well, pupils get addicted to these devices very easily which can make them become introverts in a long run because they would lack the necessary social skills. Additionally, kids get exposed to a wide range of things which are beyond their age. This can lead to detrimental effects.

In conclusion, the usage of smartphones will act as a boon as long as its usage is monitored, otherwise can be quite harmful.