With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Technology has transformed the day to day activities in a way that makes the human life much easier. E-books is once such concept which involves reading books online via hand held devices like mobile phone, iPads and laptops. The usage of e-books has seen a rise in recent times. Although, this practise is seen by some as beneficial while others do not think so, hence the topic of moot. This essay will discuss both the perspectives.

To commence with positives, a key benefit of e-books is that it is environment friendly, in a manner there is no use of paper, which would require chopping down a lot of trees and the resources used to manufacture a paper, all of which is saved. Secondly, from the reader’s perspective electronic books are easily accessible, as every book is just one click away. Readers have to download the book from authentic websites and have life time of access to it. Moreover, it is a more cheaper option when compared to hard copy. For instance, the most popular websites for online books is the amazon’s kindle, it is a website that has a virtual store of numerous books that can be bought at such low prices. But the cost of same books, when bought in person are almost double the price.

Despite the positive arguments, there seems to be downside to it. One of the major adversity of this trend is the health hazard that comes along. Staring at a screen for a long time can badly affect the eyes, as longer exposure to blue light that the mobile devices emit is known to be damaging to the human eye. Moreover, these devices run on batteries and hence would require regular charging, which results in excess use of electricity. Some readers are of the opinion of that the experience of reading drastically drops in e-books.

In conclusion, the demerits of its usage seem to overweigh the merits. However, if the use of e-books is not over done and monitored then it is definitely a boon in disguise.