Some cites have few controls over the design and construction of housing and office buildings. People think that they should be free to choose the design they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an argument that the government should give people freedom in decision of designs for their buildings. While there are several benefits, I believe the advantages of this development cannot outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, freedom in choosing construction schemes would allow initiatives to be taken into practice. Firstly, the high-rise constructions with special structures can be used to convey the messages of companies who own them. For example, a company relating to arts and crafts might construct its base to resemble the combination of abstractionism shapes, which would immediately evoke thoughts of artistic elements whenever people look at the building. An elaborately-designed construction can also illustrate the exceptional talent of the architect that generated the original idea on paper.

On the other hand, however, there are negative consequences when giving a totally free right to sketch up a house. The most apparent disadvantage is that some people, with lacks of understanding about structural design, can create possibly dangerous constructions. For instance, so-called ‘Vietnamese Pisa towers’ are houses or buildings that are thin but very tall, therefore make themselves weak structures and incline slightly overtime. At a moment, the whole building would collapse, threatening human life. Additionally, some skyscrappers, despite having good-looking appearances, might pollute the environment via their construction process, by using environmentally unfriendly matterial or by loaf of exhausted fumes.