Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. What are the advantages for a company of having a uniform? Are there any benefits of having a uniform for the staff?

In recent years, different organizations are coming up with the concept of having their own distinguishable dress code. While some people consider it is not a necessary thing to focus on, I would contend that undoubtedly it has multifarious benefits at an internal level as well as to the external world.

To begin with, uniform helps to unify the employee of any given organization. This means it represents that all within that operations are under the same umbrella and from C-level executive to the front desk receptionist exhibits the uniqueness despite their different roles at different positions. Thus, it develops a core brand image of that company in the external world with more professional attire. An empirical survey conducted in the USA by the Boston Consultant Group last year ascertained the same notion. The survey reported that 95% of the organizations who were having their identical business attire, considered to be 100% professional company by their customers, suppliers and other stakeholders. Another point is that uniforms serve as a better identification tool for sales-based ventures where customer service is a pivotal part of generating business leads. Therefore, for the customers, it is easily noticeable who are there to serve them on the other side of the counter.

Furthermore, some people feel that there is no meaning in having the same dress unless the actual service is of premium quality. To them, companies should emphasize on improving their customer experience rather than becoming like the school-going kids with the same colored shirt, pants and tie with the suit. However, they should not forget that integrity is itself a part of representing quality. That is why we see the cabin crew of Emirates and other airlines with their identifiable dress patterns that even matches with the logo color of the company. This exemplifies that the obvious benefits are there for the companies operating globally.

To recapitulate, wearing a specific dress on duty emits the sense of professionalism and responsibility which ultimately helps to build the core of the quality concept. To me, for any company it helps to gain attention and focus to their potential internal and external customers without any hazard, hence, should be considered as a mandatory part of the job.