Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion

A question has been raised over whether there is an upward trend in the use of sport or sport celebrities as representative icons of business organisations. Some people think that it will reflect a positive effect on the growth of these companies. However, from a personal perspective, I do believe that there are some negative consequences in a company's product or service.

The aspect to consider the reason for organizations sponsorship of sport events or sport stars concerns the increase in brand awareness. Obviously, as long as being supported, competitions, such as tennis or football matches, will hang around banners or posters of sponsors, and sport celebrities will use the company's service or goods publicly in not only sport but also their daily life. Thanks to this, firms succeeded in seizing the spectator or target customer attention, since their brands are bound to be seen everywhere. Gradually, all information about their brand, including products appearance, its function, and productivity, stick in people's mind and give them a good impression. On that basis, trust is built up and people tend to purchase more products from supporting companies.

Nevertheless, on the other hand, since the behind the scenes of a sports event or a celebrity is sophisticated, it can be harmful to a company’s image.

Providing being involved in a scandal, sport organizers and stars are all criticised by the community, whether it is their wrong or not. They will be examined every single aspect in life, even the product that they represented. The social community will question back if products or services used or advertised are real or trick. Eventually, consumers are bound to be suspicious about the quality and impose a boycott of the company's product, which raises a decline in the consumption of goods and service.

In conclusion, the sponsorship for sport activities or sport stars can bring not only the advantages but also the disadvantages. Therefore, from a company’s perspective, they should take into account all pros and cons carefully before deciding to place their money on the most suitable type of advertisement.