In some countries around the world men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, having babies late has gradually increased and become a trend in several countries. There are two main reasons which lead to this issue. Personally, both advantages and disadvantages cannot be measured as having babies or not is a choice of individuals.

A typical answer for the discussed phenomenon is that numerous people nowadays are workaholics for money and future promotional purposes. As a result, they could spend hours or even their whole lives sticking with their occupation instead of paying attention to breeding. Besides, there are no longer any prejudices about giving birth since gender equality in the family, and social life has existed. Plus, most young people currently have a progressive mindset that does not exaggerate having babies; they could still love each other and marry without consideration. Moreover, thanks to modern technology, people can approach the Artificial Insemination method to get over procreative concerns.

Regarding the advantages of having babies late, deciding to have babies late makes people less stressed because the financial burden is not a matter anymore. Once pairs of mates are sure about their income and feel confident enough to handle all living expenses like bills, consequently, their kids could grow up in sufficient living conditions. However, there are also some drawbacks involved. Specifically, the generation gap made from having kids late would cause a barrier between child and parents to understand each other. Besides, late newborn babies will probably suffer mental and physical health problems. For instance, down-syndrome is commonly seen in most children who were given birth late. Therefore, tons of obstacles would perhaps happen to their future, forcing them to confront too many undeserving hardships.

In conclusion, each person has their determination of having babies. Nevertheless, they must consider its pros and cons thoroughly to make an accurate decision.