In some countries around the world, men and women are having babies late in life.

What are the reasons?

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With paradigm shifts in social beliefs and people’s fascination with their careers, having children later in life has been delayed by many couples. This essay discusses the major reasons for this trend, and I believe that the merits outweigh the drawbacks.

There are a number of reasons leading to the trend of giving birth at later stages of life. First, in order to compete in the job market, many couples choose to focus on time, effort, and money on their careers. This is because delaying parenthood enables couples to work no longer hours and with higher commitment, resulting in better salaries and wages. Second, many young people nowadays understand the magnitude of child-rearing responsibility. For example, feeding babies and teaching them that require a great deal of patience and hard work, which discouraged many would-be parents.

It is true that late childbearing can have both advantages and disadvantages. As for the upside, those who delay starting a family can have time to get more done, either at work or in life, making them happier overall. In fact, studies have shown that people who have the time to do and travel more when they are young have a higher level of happiness than those who do not. Nevertheless, giving birth later in life does pose certain risks that might affect a woman's health as well as her baby’s health. As a result, it has been shown that a late-born child is more likely to suffer some birth defects such as heart disabilities or intellectual disabilities.

In conclusion, although there are some negative aspects of having children late in life the positive points outweigh the negative ones. I believe that it is a great idea to mutually decide and move a step ahead because it is a lifetime decision.